April 26 – Eddy’s Guitar Was Quite The Rebel Rouser

Happy birthday to a guitarist once so popular he beat out Elvis Presley as Britain’s favorite international musician. The “Titan of Twang”, Duane Eddy, turns 86 today. His name might not be instantly recognizable, but his sound most certainly is.

Although he was born and spent his childhood in New York, his family moved to Arizona in his teen years and he quickly fit in there and found a way of incorporating the wide open spaces of the desert into his guitar work, which was something he’d been working on since he was a pre-schooler. At 16, he bought a Gretsch guitar and the rest is history, as they say. He soon formed a duo called Jimmy & Duane in Phoenix and put out a single called “Soda Fountain Girl” in 1955. It was a minor hit in the city, and the pair became popular in the area playing country music. Around that time, Duane started to play his trademark “twangy” sound, concentrating on the lower, bass strings on his guitar (and later, at times even using a six-string bass). when he signed a record deal, the producer, Lee Hazlewood, decided it needed more echo so he bought a 2000-gallon tank for Eddy to play in to really add reverb!

The sound took off and in 1958 he had his first real hit, “Rebel Rouser” which hit #6 in the U.S. and earned him a gold single. He’d go on to have a dozen top 30 hits by 1963 including “Because They’re Young” and “Dance With the Guitar Man.” He was even more popular across the ocean, with 18 top 30s there by the mid-’60s. By that time he’d sold over 12 million records. So well-known and loved was he there that in 1960, the NME named him the favorite international musician, ahead of Elvis. As the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame would say, some 30 years later when he was inducted, “twang came to represent a walk on the wild side…the sound of revved-up hot rods made for rebels with or without a cause.”

Eddy’s now best-known for his take on a somewhat obscure TV show’s theme. Peter Gunn was a bete-noire type detective show around the end of the ’50s. Henry Mancini composed the theme for it, recalling it “derives more from rock and roll than jazz” and using a tense piano and guitar in unison sound to make it “sinister.” Eddy put his guitar sound to it and made it into a British top 10 hit… twice. First in 1959, then later with the band Art of Noise who redid it in 1986.

The Beatles of course changed the sound of pop dramatically around 1963, which coincided with when Duane’s hot streak petered out. He turned to acting for much of the rest of the decade, and in the ’70s produced some country records, and showed up here and there on other records, like B.J. Thomas’ “Rock & Roll Lullaby” which he played guitar on. Still, in those few short years he racked up quite a string of hits and influenced a whole generation of young guitarists including Bruce Springsteen, Dave Davies of the Kinks, Mark Knopfler and even George Harrison. No wonder he was an early entrant into the Rock Hall… and only the second winner of Guitar Player‘s “Guitar Legend” designation. The first was Les Paul, putting Eddy in pretty good company. And like Paul, there is a guitar named for Duane… the Gretsch “Duane Eddy” 6120DE.

Although he’s seemed to be laying low of late, Eddy was still touring as recently as 2018, when he had an 80th birthday tour!

30 thoughts on “April 26 – Eddy’s Guitar Was Quite The Rebel Rouser

  1. Badfinger (Max)

    I love these instrumentals from the 50s and 60s like this one and Rebel Rouser…I also like Rumble by Link Wray…great stuff.
    I didn’t know Duane Eddy became an actor…

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Badfinger (Max)

        That movie worked well with all of that music…and again it brought music to a generation who didn’t know it…like Guardians of the Galaxy does.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. true. It really enhanced the movie and gave you an added feeling of the times he was in (F.Gump)
        well, interesting day today… was about four city blocks with lights away from hearing the sirens going off this morning, tornado warned storm skirted by us … warning actually went out for the other side of the road which our usual supermarket is located on. But so far, it’s seeming like it was just funnel clouds and a strong rotation within the storm but none touching down. Of course, two more days of the same forecast

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Badfinger (Max)

        Oh geez…it’s that time of year and we will be getting them any day now as you know. I just hope we can dodge as many as possible.
        That is close!

        Liked by 2 people

      4. Yeah!! Just after posting that, my sweetie showed a photo one of the bosses at work (who I guess was off today) posted , showing the tornado, not just theoretical, just where the reports were showing the rotation, about 10 miles north of here.

        Liked by 2 people

      5. Badfinger (Max)

        That is scary… I’ve never seen a full one before in person…I’ve only seen air rotating around that looked like it was going to form but didn’t…

        Liked by 2 people

      6. the same storm now about 30 miles away finally was ‘confirmed’ as having a tornado on the ground… unusual for this early in the daytime.
        I saw one , classic look type, in upstate NY once when driving through, but I was on a hilly road and couldn’t pull over to get a photo- it was kind of in the valley below. And I saw one back up in Ontario, right from outside my apt., but weird thing was at time I was watching it, I wasn’t quite aware – it was very small, no doubt a minimal F0, and it was raining very hard, but it did seem to be swirling visibly. Later I walked around outside and could see a clearcut damage path of branches ripped off and a few bits of roofing, precisely where the ‘swirl’ was… only about th width of the street, maybe 60 feet across at most, and only for about two blocks. Then there was a damaging one the first year I was here, I watched for awhile outside and couldn’t exactly see the tornado per se, but things were blowing around and things were going up into the air a bit before I went into the bathroom. And I tried to ‘chase’ a warned storm in Ontario years ago- that was harrowing, with the amount of rain and hail (long before phones with internet and radar) , I did get some shots after it passed of a distant funnel or possibly tornado – the treeline made it difficult to know if it had touched down. Pretty exciting stuff, but a bit scary too!

        Liked by 2 people

      7. Badfinger (Max)

        I’ve always wanted to chase one! As long as you could keep some distance. I guess flat areas like Kansas would be the place to do it.
        I’ve been within a few miles of one and saw a lot of hail…I mean blinding hail.
        I hope the one that touched down doesn’t cause many injuries or damage…but that is a large hope.

        I’ve always wanted to see one Dave….but NOT from my front window in my house lol.

        Liked by 2 people

      8. they do fascinate me, more than any other type of weather probably. I’d now maybe go on an organized storm chase, but wouldn’t be doing it myself in an old car, even with radar on the phone. My mistake on that one was to drive right into the storm rather than try to skirt the edge and come up from behind it.

        Liked by 2 people

      9. They confirmed 2 in the immediate area today, kind of glad in as much as radar seemed to be clearly showing it & it would be a ‘boy who cried wolf’ situation if nothing at all happened. Thankfully doesn’t seem like significant damage though. Round 2 tomorrow afternoon

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Just recently bought a second hand copy on vinyl of ‘Greatest Hits.’ Some crackers on there, but I have to say, I did find it a bit ‘samey’ after a while.

    (I have no idea why, but when I was younger – like 40! – I used to always get Duane Eddy and Sandy Nelson mixed up. DUH!) :-D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i would think so, honestly. ‘Peter Gunn’, ‘Rebel rouser’, a few others I’ve heard by him are great mixed in but to be truthful, I think listening to 45 minutes or so straight of it, no vocals or anything would be tedious.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Long time fan but to be honest i had no idea he was touring into 2018! Although different he and Link Wray were in class to themselves. Really bold command of the guitar but clean and precise. As you talked about he got caught in the Invasion and very quickly went out of style for the mainstream.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. true on both. I was glad Art of Noise redid ‘Peter Gunn’ with him in the ’80s because it was the first I heard of him, and likely the same for many others. Too bad he didn’t get some session work – would have been cool to have him do some guest guitar work on others’ records.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. it’s pretty amazing isn’t it? both I guess that he was SO popular there and that conversely, Elvis wasn’t all that over there… more like a prince second in line perhaps than ‘The King’!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Johnny Carsons tonight show drew his largest rating the night Tiny wed Miss Vickie on the stage. Tiny, actually had a tremendous tenor voice and could sing opera, much like Raul Malo of the Mavericks. Miss Vickie was a bit of a sleezy gal and went on to do photo shoots in C rated mens magazines. Tiny croaked of a heart attack while playing his Roy Rogers Uke.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I remember reading that, the wedding one being his biggest viewed one. I didn’t know much about him, and less about Miss Vickie. I’m guessing she didn’t start a potato chip company though.

        Like

  4. The Gunn theme is one my brother tried to pick out on his acoustic. It sounded terrible, but I guess he lacked the amp and 2000 gallon tank to make it ring. And the talent Eddy had.

    ‘Soda Fountain Girl…’ The title just couldn’t get more 50s could it?

    I took note of your tornado chasing back and forths with Max. All I’ll add is that after our earthquakes in 2010/11 which ultimately meant our house was written off – thank Gawd for insurance!- I don’t have any desire to catch up with Mother Nature. She’ll kick your ass from here to Sorryville and back again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, dude, had no idea you lost your house. Thank God you & your wife weren’t under it! I experienced one earthquake in Ontario. It was like 4.6, Canada-style one not a Pacific Rim quake. I was at work in camera store & the building shook…I, and gal working with me at the time thought someone had driven into the side of the building. But a dash to parking lot showed not the case. When I got home, I found news full of stories about earthquake near Toronto. I never want to spend significant time in LA or San Fran …4.6 is just a mild tremor there!
      Although we’re at the fringe of conventional ‘tornado alley’ here, the downtown was erased by one of the most damaging ones in US history in ’50s so it pays to be vigilant

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, we lived in it for a year or so. What you don’t know can’t hurt you I guess, and people have said I was clueless for ages. Seriously, you just go on hoping your world doesn’t collapse around you. Stoicism. Our biggies were 7.2 and 6.4, but basically the ground just kept shaking away for more than a year. Yes, I agree, it plays to look at the history of the place you call home.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment