September 3 – The Turntable Talk, Round 6 : Is Christian’s Pick Daft?

Welcome back to Turntable Talk! As by now, regular readers know, that’s when I have several interesting guest writers sound off on one topic related to the music that we look at here daily. This is our sixth round of it, and if you’re new here, I recommend taking a look back at some of the earlier topics we’ve covered like why the Beatles are still relevant, or “did video kill the radio star?”

This time around, we’re calling it “Shock Rock.” But wait, there’s a twist – it’s not about Marilyn Manson and his contemporaries…unless our writers want it to be. Rather, its more about what some would call “guilty pleasures.” Songs or records that you like that would “shock” most people. Ones that go against the grain of most of what you listen to. I once asked a well-known radio DJ who loved new music, alternative and artsy rock if he had a musical guilty pleasure and he responded that he’d always liked “Moonlight feels Right” by Starbuck… a ’70s piece of laid back yacht rock with a xylophone solo! (Hey, we like it too!) Not his usual fare, but a song that he loves regardless. Maybe the heavy metal types have a soft spot for a bit of late night opera. Or an “all-60s rock” person loves Bruno Mars too. You get the idea.

So, today we have Christian from Christian’s Music Musings. There he introduces us to a wide array of new music every week. He’s known for his eclecticism, so is there anything he likes that might surprise? Well, he says:

Thanks, Dave, for inviting me back to share my thoughts for another round of “Turntable Talk” – given the topic, hopefully, this won’t be the last time! 😊

Since I feel I’ve been pretty transparent about my music taste on my blog and in comments, I really needed to figure out how to tackle this topic. Yes, I’m mostly a ‘60s and ‘70s guy who likes blues, British invasion, classic rock and soul. But on more than one occasion, I’ve also revealed preferences that clearly fall outside my core wheelhouse, which probably have surprised some readers.

For example, I’ve acknowledged I dig a good number of songs by Bon Jovi and Journey, bands I know are not particularly popular among some of my fellow bloggers. Additionally, I’ve admitted I like some disco, a genre that can make many rock fans break out in hives. I’ve also expressed positive sentiments about certain electronic/new age music artists like Jean-Michel Jarre and Klaus Schulze – something you could argue contradicts my general mantra that “good music” should be played with “real” instruments instead of synthesizers.

Given the above, I asked myself the question what I could say that might surprise readers who know my music taste based on my blog. At first, I had contemplated writing about ELO’s 1979 studio album Discovery, which has a bunch of disco/dance-oriented tunes I like. I also considered doing a post on Klaus Schulze’s Timewind, his fifth album from 1975. But based on what I noted at the outset of this post, I don’t think any of these choices would have been particularly revealing.

In the end, I decided to highlight three songs I like by artists who may surprise you. Warning: Some of you may be shocked!

Let’s start with something gentler. In February 1982, British trio Imagination released what would become their biggest hit: “Just an Illusion.” While it’s not disco, it’s definitely dance music. Wikipedia characterizes the album In the Heat of the Night, on which the tune appeared, as post-disco, funk and soul. And, nope, it’s not an illusion, I think this is a pretty groovy and catchy tune. Are you still with me?

Moving on to my next pick. How many of you would have thought I dig a tune by two French electronic music dudes who performed in robot outfits and concealed their faces with helmets? Yes, it’s Daft Punk, baby! And I’m talking about a song that became an international sensation in 2013. Not only did it top the charts in France, but it also hit no. 1 in Australia, Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Switzerland and the UK. In Sweden and the U.S., it peaked at no. 2. Aptly, it was titled “Get Lucky and featured Pharrell Williams on vocals and Nile Rodgers on guitar. Like Just an Illusion, it’s really the groove that won me over. The latter is due to Rodgers’ seductive funky guitar sound. I also like Pharrell’s singing.

Okay, are you ready for one more shocker? Ready or not, here it comes, the one you may find a real stinker that may push you over the edge: “Waiting For a Star to Fall,” a top 10 hit in the U.S. (no. 5) and the UK (no. 9) in 1988 by Boy Meets Girl. There’s definitely more than one reason why I shouldn’t be fond of this song, including the outfit’s corny name and the lyrics. Waiting for a star to fall/And carry your heart into my arms/That’s where you belong/In my arms, baby, yeah…Not exactly Shakespeare. And yet I can’t deny I find this song pretty catchy. In fact, it’s been stuck in my brain since I remembered it when reflecting on the topic.

BTW, behind Boy Meets Girl are vocalists and songwriters George Merrill and Shannon Rubicam who at the time Waiting For a Star to Fall came out were a married couple. Now isn’t that sweet? But wait, there’s more. They also wrote two no. 1 hits for Whitney Houston: “How Will I Know (1985) and “I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)” (1987).

So, what’s the main take-away to all of this? I guess there are two possible answers. Number one: I finally proved my music taste is terrible after all! Number two: Music doesn’t always make sense. Sometimes you like songs, even though they contradict your taste. I would argue that’s a good thing!

24 thoughts on “September 3 – The Turntable Talk, Round 6 : Is Christian’s Pick Daft?

  1. thanks for taking part Christian, and don’t worry, we want you back for the next one too! An eclectic taste is a good thing and you demonstrate that once more here. I quite like that Boy Meets Girl song too, always thought it was a pleasant enough if not mind-boggling pop song; the daft Punk one I’m familiar with too. Never knew Nile Rodgers was in on it! I’m just trying to get a feel for the other track which was new to me.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Badfinger (Max)

    I told Dave…this was the hardest one I’ve had to write about. Those songs are outside of your normal thing Christian…I know where you are at though…I never was a fan of Janet Jackson but I did like ONE song by her called “Together Again” and I like ONLY one by Madonna…that is the song Borderline. I guess something just clicks with some of these songs because we have similiar tastes in music and they are not in that realm.

    Liked by 3 people

      1. sometimes that happens. I don’t know ‘Together Alone’ but I will try to give it a listen. I like some of the JJ singles (‘Let’s Wait Awhile’ comes to mind) but not a big fan of hers. Although by about 1987 I’d prefer to listen to her anyday over what her more famous brother was putting out.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Badfinger (Max)

        That paticular song has a good pop melody…I don’t like production around it but that melody shines through. Yea I agree on the brother lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. There is always that ‘right out of left field’ track that causes you to wonder why the hell you like it? But life and listening would be so boring if you only listened to, say Lemmy, exclusively. We all need a few sweet secret sprinkles on our oatmeal now and then.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Reading your post, I felt like I was reading my own! This was a difficult one to really nail down. I almost wish I had posted 3-5 songs that are just “out there,” but the question always came back to me, “Are they really ‘out there’ or are they just that way for me?”.

    For my post, my song is probably the most serious I’ve ever posted. Go figure. Maybe it will come across as “shocking.”

    You know, the more I think about it, maybe I should have just posted ‘Gitchee Gitchee Goo’ from Phineas and Ferb ..

    Good piece, Christian. We appreciate your posts!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kid Charlemagne

    Nice piece Christian. I was digging through some old unplayed vinyl recently and I found that Imagination album, I didn’t realise at the time that Just an illusion was written and produced by Jolley & Swain who would go on to produce Spandau Ballet’s True album as well as Banarama and Alison Moyet.
    By the way, anything with a Niles Rogers groove gets my vote!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good digging there KC… I vaguely recognize the Jolley and Swain name but they worked on some really good things in 80s. And yes to Nile Rodgers…from David Bowie to Daft Punk in one easy step.

      Like

  6. Being a punk / rock / reggae guy at heart, I guess these songs you’ve picked would surprise my pals if I said I liked them. But I do … well, two of them. I love Imagination,, perhaps because it takes me right back to living in Stirling just after we got married. And the Boy Meets Girl track is a bit of a ‘modern’ classic in my eyes. Ears.
    Daft Punk? Nah – not that one, though I do have a couple earlier singles in my collection.

    (Yeah – I’m glad Paul has taken this one on for us. It’s amazing what some of us consider a ‘shock rock’ track is to others an absolute gem. 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment